USS Shira E.

Union Square Slam presents Shira E. and the Say Their Name Slam!

« Back to Events
This event has passed.
Union Square Slam presents Shira E. and the Say Their Name Slam!
January 18, 2016 7:00 PM
January 18, 2016 9:30 PM
Suggested donation of $5 to benefit the Bureau. No one turned away for lack of funds.
Union Square Slam
January 4, 2016
Bureau of General Services—Queer Division @ The Center
212 620 7310 ext. 300
Google Map
208 West 13th Street, Room 210, New York, NY, 10011, United States
USS Shira E.

The incomparable SHIRA E. will be gracing us all with her magnificence!

(Please note: the Bureau is closed on Mondays. We open at 6 PM on Mondays for the Union Square Slam.)

6 pm: Free Writing Workshop
7 pm: Sign-ups for Open Mic and Slam
7:15 pm: Open Mic
7:35 pm: Feature
8:00pm: Open Slam

Bureau of General Services-Queer Division
(located in the LGBT Center, 208 W 13th St, #210)
$5 // ALL AGES // 18 and under FREE

About Our Feature:

Shira Erlichman is a multidisciplinary artist who was born in Israel and immigrated to the US when she was six. A three-time Pushcart Prize nominee, her work can be found in The Huffington Post, Psychology Tomorrow, BuzzFeed, NPR, Bust Magazine, The Massachusetts Review, and Winter Tangerine Review, among others. She received her BA from Hampshire College & a James Merrill Fellowship from the Vermont Studio Center. As a musician she’s shared stages with Tune-Yards, Mirah, Andrea Gibson, & Coco Rosie. Learn more at

About Our Slam:

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr’s birthday, poems read tonight are in tribute to those murdered by police or vigilantes and the ongoing work towards justice, equality, and freedom.

We have a variety of Theme Slams, meant to introduce different artistic elements, challenges, and inspiration to our work. Points will be recorded for the sake of naming a “winner”, however, these points do not count towards your total score for the quarter. Your participation in one Theme Slam meets your requirement for Final Stage Participation. All theme slams will take up to 8 competitors, and will be ranked in an 8­,5,­3 cumulative fashion. Each round has a 3 minute time limit unless otherwise stated.